Lesson one

So…. my holidays are coming to an end soon.

And as expected how I would see myself spending it, nothing but trainings.. school commitments… trainings and going out with my favorite people/person 🙂
Had a good catch up time with Randall, Tingting & Pravin (someone’s back from solo backpacking from Amsterdam/Milan/Rome) at Holland V’s Kenny Rogers yesterday!
And about 2 days back, I had dinner @ Causeway Pt Pizza Hut’s  with Coach Stella, Eunice & Clarice!
Always reminiscing about all the times we were given suicide sets to do, how strict trainings were in the past in Secondary School… take me back to when we could all run laps without feeling like dying :/

But at least, the holidays were fulfilling enough and I guess I really needed this period of time to train harder to get back the confidence I need to be back on court. To be trying harder again and not let mental barriers get the best of me. Thankfully one way or another it has been well but I guess when you’ve been off for a while, you start to see things that bothers you because the beauty of sportsmanship has been wrongly interpreted at times.

I’ve lived by growing up and thinking that playing the game, especially team sports should always be about bringing out the better good of people. Especially when everyone starts out together and here and there, internal competition once in a while to push you forward as a team or individuals is good. It’s healthy. But I do not understand why it comes to a point where getting the possession of the ball has given you the rights to go against your character, your persona and everything else when you’re in the game. It does not give you the power or authority to show how much of an unbeautiful (it’s not technically the right word to fit in here but I couldn’t think something less powerful) person you are.

It should not be about the individual glory.
It can be a reason, but it should never be the reason.

 

There are plenty of teams in every sport that have great players and never win titles. Most of the time, those players aren’t willing to sacrifice for the greater good of the team. The funny thing is, inthe end, their unwillingness to sacrifice only makes individual goals more difficult to achieve. One thing I believe to the fullest is that if you think and achieve as a team, the individual accolades will take care of themselves. Talent wins games, but teamwork and intelligence win championships. -Michael Jordan

I hope I don’t end up like that.

Leave a Reply

