Say something I’m giving up on you

As I finish my second academic year in DMC, there are many things that I look back on that I’m really glad it’s all over.

MMR Conference

Screen Shot 2014-02-21 at 12.19.31 AM

A module that was meant to last only 6 months, but it took a year for us. And it was crazy. Just, unbelievable.
But the experience has been worthwhile and fulfilling. I will never forget how I had to go back to school for almost every day of my holidays. If it wasn’t a morning training, it’ll be a night training. It was like a 12 hour daily shift in school and I was so tired.

But I’m glad for this opportunity. Am glad that I didn’t give up.

Part time @ SPGG
I took this up during my last holidays, it was indeed unexpected and impromptu. All after a phone call and I agreed to the job. Did I regret my decision? To a certain extent, yes –  I could have spent my holidays doing something so much more productive (or going home to rest after trainings… but noooo I had to eat lunch all by myself and walk back across the field to sit at the office all day…)

But it was a taste of what a job within my scope would be like. And fair enough, the colleagues were really nice to me and I’m really thankful for that. It lasted for a couple of weeks but I wouldn’t have asked for anything else to build up my portfolio.

(P/s: I learnt about myself that I can’t see myself sitting around doing an office job. I really can’t.)

NTU Handball Opens

Screen Shot 2014-02-21 at 12.30.33 AM

Though it was just a few matches played, and it wasn’t my best and I know I can do much better than where I am now- I think the great comfort would be in knowing that there has been progress made. And I don’t plan to stop.

REDSports

Screen Shot 2014-02-21 at 12.31.57 AM
Just where do I begin?

In September last year, I thought that I should just give it a try and emailed the creator of Redsports. I had no idea what I was in for. I didn’t receive a reply till a week later, which I was suddenly so shocked that my first time covering the sport was with the boss as the photographer himself.

I never though I’d see a day where I’d be done… and the crew has really expanded. I’ve became closer to a few buddies that I’ve met here and it has been a fun journey indeed. It’s like family here.

And today, 20 stories later (with my internship completed) I’m glad that I took it up despite knowing that I was on a crazy schedule during my school days. To many it seemed as if I was “asking for trouble” like as if I’m asking for extra workload – but that’s where they are wrong indeed. I have never sought so much satisfaction from seeing articles being published and that feeling is simply mutual.

One of the best decisions I have made in my life. No doubt about that.

Till I feel nostalgic again.
Seeeeyou! 🙂

Leave a Reply

